How We Welcomed Emery Mae

Baby E

As with most women during their first pregnancy, I had no idea what to expect for the big moment. But having the worries, anxieties and fears that run through your mind about not knowing what birth really feels like for nine whole months really prepares you. Because, by the end, you just don’t care about how much its going to hurt or the “Oh.My.Gosh. Something the size of a watermelon is going to be forced through my vajayjay.” By week 36, all I could mutter was “Just get this baby out of me so I can feel human again!”

So imagine my disappointment when I wasn’t holding my sweet baby girl by October 1st. I was pissed. At no one in particular, but just constantly full of piss and vinegar – mad at the world I lived in. My midwife (being the astute professional she is), saw my discomfort and planned induction for October 8th at 6:00 am.

And here is where I make a plan and once again see God laugh.

The Friday prior to my induction I began having noticeable contractions. Like “Woah-hold-down-the-fort-for-a-minute” kind. By Saturday night, Rob had me in our bathtub and calling the hospital. Sunday at midnight we went in to the hospital where I was told that my contractions where caused by a UTI, so the only logical thing would be to have me walk around the hospital, drink a liter of water, hand me two percocet and antibiotics, and send me on my way home. Genius. Did I mention I couldn’t drink water for, like, 24 hours because my contractions were kicking my butt? No? Dehydration cant be a factor? No. “You’re only dilated 2cm.” Great.

Fast forward to Sunday morning at 11:30 am. Contractions? Check. Nausea? Check. Still in bed at home? Check! My mom, grandmother, sister, and father conveniently show up (they live 3 hours away). Upon walking into our bedroom, my mom and grandmother recognize I’m deep into labor. My sweet sweet grandma goes to rub my back, and at the slightest touch I heave and water breaks. To the hospital we go again!

Once there, I am checked and miraculously I am at 5 cm and admitted. Yay! Here we go! Labor was labor… Not as bad as I thought! I like who I was during labor. I was tolerant, I gave one word answers to everything, and everyone was my friend. Best friend. And I didn’t tell my husband that his breath was awful. Which I normally would. Poor guy.

Once the contraction became really tough, I opted for the jacuzzi. AMAZING. Highly recommended. This thing was heaven. 2 hours felt like 45 minutes, and sleep felt like paradise. But once I was out, it was time to get back to work! My contractions became a little heavier, I dilated a little more, some other not-so-pleasant medical things (recall my hydration) were taken care of, and before I knew it, they were transforming the room for delivery.

We began the pushing at 7:10 pm and at 7:32 I had this cute little baby laying on my chest getting ready to nurse for the first time. It was incredible! And oh my! The high was great too. No crazy workout can give you that high. Only pushing out a baby can. Suddenly, I had a burst of energy, I was hungry again, and thirsty. I wanted get up to go to the bathroom, and I felt light as a feather. I wanted to talk to everyone and see everyone. I even made phone calls to friends at 11.

People are scared of childbirth, and for good reason. It was tough, no mistake. But doing it drug-free and able to feel every ounce of it, made the end so much sweeter. And that moment you realize you did it, and you see that sweet baby staring at you, already loving you and so connected to you… I mean, “wow” cant even encompass it all. Tears in my eyes as I’m writing this. I would do this again a million times.

Emery Mae was born on October 7th at 7:32 pm (remember the induction plans? Yeah, God was laughing). She weighed 7 pounds, 11 ounces and was 21.5 inches long.

Tagged , ,

One thought on “How We Welcomed Emery Mae

  1. Liisa Noel says:

    I love you. I love your birth story. I love that we are like-minded. And yes, I remember that phone call when you were on your “baby-high!”

Leave a Reply

